Wandering With Words

Random musings of a reckless soul.

Vote for yourself !

Leave a comment

Image

I wrote this piece way before the elections. I truly believe that we – the people – are responsible for our country more than the elected politicians. When we can fight for our rights, we should also remember our duties. So now that we have all voted, let’s begin helping the sarkar we have voted for.


 

Image

A day ago, while I was on my way to class- enjoying the adrenaline rush from driving at 30 kmph- I was jerked out of my smooth driving by someone speeding the wrong way, missing crashing into me by only inches.

Shaky and out of my mind, I had to pull aside to get my heartbeat back to normal.

I sulked the rest of the way and on my way back home, I couldn’t ignore the many things that met my eyes: vehicles jumping signals, hasty pedestrians risking their lives while crossing the roads, policemen sitting idle at the junctions, vehicles moving on the wrong side of the road, ‘large’ families balancing themselves on small two wheelers, buses tilting to one side due to overload, people overtaking each other, unnecessary honking, bikers without helmets, idiots talking on the phone while driving, 8 out of 10 not turning off the engines at the red light, etc.

So, can anyone tell me why we so brutally criticize the government when we ourselves fail to do our part?

* We litter the country.
* We spit, anywhere. Everywhere!
* Roads and corners are wall-less open toilets for most ‘gentlemen‘.

And I could go on and on.

If you are one of those people who talks about or wants the country to change, then begin from yourself and stop saying “Yeh India hai, yahan sab chalta hai”.

Author: parchedsouls

Diploma in Fashion Design. M.A in English Literature. Bachelor of Education. Teacher.

Leave a Reply

