Wandering With Words

Random musings of a reckless soul.

In the dark there was a Rainbow.

6 Comments

 

When the night brings darkness

A ladder descends

Each star a rung.

Pretending to sleep, I ascend

Clouds under my feet

Feel soft and warm

The moon a ballroom floor

Stars my partners

“I admire you every night”

Say I, to the moon

“So do I”  she repeats

I smile when company arrives

Under my feet the raindrops sprout to life

Come with us and feel the surge

I relent when they urge

Flying down, nearing my bed

They tucked me in and sang my lullaby

When in a while I opened my eyes

 

In the dark there was a Rainbow.

Author: parchedsouls

Diploma in Fashion Design. M.A in English Literature. Bachelor of Education. Teacher.

6 thoughts on “In the dark there was a Rainbow.

  1. Beautiful poem and the title is intriguing.

  2. I love the juxtaposition of the rainbow vs the dark. Well done!

  3. really beautiful. and it reminded me of something I once read about what van gogh said about the colors he saw in the dark – I cannot recall where or what exactly – but he was talking about why he like painting at night – and the hues he sees form the candle light.
    anyhow, loved this poem – and great title.

    • I think what Gogh said was this – “It often seems to me that the night is much more alive and richly colored than the day.”
      Night interests me enormously too.

      Thanks a lot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

