Wandering With Words

Random musings of a reckless soul.

The Book Bucket Challenge.

4 Comments

The challenge is to list ten books that have stayed with you for years / changed your perceptions / are simply great pieces of literature.
Here are my ten books :

1* Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime
– Mark Haddon.
Because seeing the world through the eyes of someone else is a rare experience.

2* The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway.
A book you could not fall out of love with.

3* The Famous Five – Enid Blyton.
For these were the very first books I read and, still read. They introduced me to the world of books and I am ever grateful.

4* Collected Poems Of W.B.Yeats.
Because, Yeats! The man who stirs storms in heads, hearts and souls.

5* The Fault in Our Stars – John Green.
This book made me cry and cry until I learnt to live life and enjoy every moment. Also, because I am an emotional fool.

6* The Shadow Lines – Amitav Ghosh.
Childhood, growing up, unrequited love, violence, internal struggles and forgiveness. I highly recommend this book.

7* The Book Thief – Markus Zusak.
There are many things in this book that hits you, hard.
“Even death has a heart.” and “So much good, so much evil, just add water.”

8* Coasting – Jonathan Raban.
“I hauled up the anchor and moved on with the tide and let the winds guide me.”
This books makes me want to do the same.

9* Who Will Cry When You Die – Robin Sharma.
~Too many people die at twenty and are buried at eighty~

10* Watership Down – Richard Adams.
It is not a children’s book. It’s everyman’s book. Every animal, too.

*11* Almost anything by P.G. Wodehouse and
Kurt Vonnegut!

Author: parchedsouls

Diploma in Fashion Design. M.A in English Literature. Bachelor of Education. Teacher.

4 thoughts on “The Book Bucket Challenge.

  1. Nice list! Noted down few 🙂
    Aaah Enid Blyton ❤ Her books are precious. They need to be preserved ad treasured for generations to come. Her books made me fall in love with reading. If it werent for these books, I would have probably never started reading. 😀

  2. Wow…..awesome list of words world!!!!!!!!!!……………I added to mine few from here…Thanks Anjum!!!!!!>..by the way where were you all these days?How are you doing?

  3. I have Yeats and have read The Old Man And The Sea and a friend recommended Haddon a few years ago. One I have just read that I am re-re-reading is Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, a beautiful book that will definitely be in my top ten. You’ve encouraged me to think about my list. Thanks for visiting and following! Your blog is very enjoyable.

    • Thanks for visiting! I loved going through your blog. 🙂
      Yeats has always been a favourite. Weaves magic with words, he does.
      Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance? I have heard a lot about this book. Will get my hands on a copy soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

