Wandering With Words

Random musings of a reckless soul.

What teachers make?

Leave a comment

Taylor Mali is perhaps best known for his poem “What Teachers Make“. The following poem is perhaps one of the best poems in praise and respect of teachers – the unsung heroes of the education system. It has successfully motivated many teachers, including me, to love what we do, and to do it better, everyday. It is said that the poem was born out of an actual dinner conversation Mali had.

The following illustration by Zen Pencils is my personal favourite as it combines my love for comics and poetry.
2013-07-23-teachersNEWThere are many reasons why I love teaching – Because :

1) I get to share my passion for reading, writing and learning.

2) My students constantly surprise me.

3) I get to see the world from so many different perspectives.

4) I get to learn new things.

5) I touch lives.

And even though I have a big problem with the current education system, I enjoy being a teacher for the love it brings me everyday.

A week ago, a group of students whom I had taught around two years ago called me up and invited me to their farewell party. I had already made some other plans for the day so I politely declined. My phone had no rest that day as there was an influx of calls. I eventually cancelled my other plans and decided to go to the party. And that was a wise decision.

The girls looked oh-so-pretty and the boys, suave. And I felt old. And blessed. And like a celebrity – because they all wanted to click a pic (mostly selfies) with me! 😀

And even though it was not a farewell for me, I was given presents. This brought tears to my eyes.

farewell Class X Mps (1) farewell Class X Mps (3) farewell Class X Mps (4) farewell Class X Mps (6) farewell Class X Mps (7) farewell Class X Mps (8)

So yeah, I love teaching because it is indeed the most satisfying job in the world. 🙂

Author: parchedsouls

Diploma in Fashion Design. M.A in English Literature. Bachelor of Education. Teacher.

Leave a Reply

